Search This Blog

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

A Point of View

Every office needs to have it
Every person should be able to access it
It should be wide and big and seen from any angle
It could be in the shape of a square, circle or rectangle.

It could be translucent or colored but preferably transparent
It could be shut for good or opens when the handle is bent
It could be French or new age or just a pane
It could be anything you want, it could even be stain

Some people start living by cleaning it
Some end life by just going through it
Others watch material things on the other side of it
It means a lot to those who can think beyond it

I enjoy the changing colors of the day
It keeps me alive and keeps excitement at bay
This portal gives me all these things and more I dare say
It gives me a vision of greater things coming to me

It’s the means by which creativity can flow
It’s made to make you dream or just watch the wind blow
You can look high up in the sky or look way down below
It’s a simple request for a seat facing a Window.

Monday, June 27, 2011

Bleed Blue… Bled Red

The world cup frenzy still lingers as twitter profiles still host “Representing World Champions” as a byline and advertisers are still squeezing as much as they can from the Dhoni franchise. But why has it taken me 3 months to write this? Well I could say I have been thinking about it or mulling over it, letting the words form in my head etcetera but the honest truth is… I washed my Bleed Blue t-shirt just a week back, it lit a bulb in my head… hence the write up.
Well don’t be too disgusted, the smell of cigarettes alcohol and winning was too good to just wash away. But unfortunately that’s not all that washed away… My lovely ‘Bleed Blue’, which if I might add was red in color, turned pink!
The campaign was a blast, the country bled blue for the players. It brought about nostalgia, team spirit, cheers and joy. It inculcated a sense of belonging, brotherhood and patriotism. If it did all this, this one campaign, then why did they have to settle for such cheap quality of material when it came to the merchandise?
No doubt Nike made a bomb of a sale during that time, and I’m referring only to their bleed blue t-shirts. And let me tell you those t-shirts were not cheap. I would have expected T-shirts that would at least last the first wash!

Dear Nike,

You came up with a Bleed Blue campaign but you didn’t make any Blue t-shirts, why? Why were all the shirts on the shelves available only in Red or Black? Why did your skinny, unimpressive sales guys get to wear the bleed blue shirts? Why Nike…Why? Why was the shirt not available for Girls (size wise)? Why was it all out of stock just on the day of the finals? Why do you guys have only 2 stores in Gurgaon?
Well the last question is not related but it is valid. I don’t understand it… if it’s a question of Demand and Supply, then in an ideal case any organization would want a situation of High Demand right? And in such a situation the company would like to capitalize on it by ensuring supply is steady… even your leftover stock would have been sold out 10 days after the World cup ended.

Regards


If I had to question them then those would have been my FAQ’s to Nike.
All said and done, I loved the campaign; I love what it did to everyone in India. There must have been thousands of people who must have had “Congratulations India: We Bleed Blue” as their status messages on Facebook after India won. But how I wish I could save the bleed Blue T-shirt, how I wish I could wear it even now and proudly walk around reminding everyone of that moment of Glory that moment where India stood together and cheered.
Nike, you have no idea what you created with Bleed Blue… that in itself was a campaign that could have done wonders in the long run. Just for the sake of an example, you remember “I love new York”? The logo is a rebus that was created by Milton Glaser and Bobby Zarem consisting of the capital letter I, followed by a red heart symbol, below which are the capital letters N and Y, set in a rounded slab serif typeface called American Typewriter.
The following is courtesy Wikipedia …
“In 1977, William S. Doyle, Deputy Commissioner of the New York State Department of Commerce hired advertising agency Wells Rich Greene to develop a marketing campaign for New York State. Doyle also recruited Milton Glaser, a productive graphic designer to work on the campaign, and created the design based on Wells Rich Greene's advertising campaign. Glaser expected the campaign to last only a couple months and did the work pro bono. It was possibly inspired in part by the state tourism slogan Virginia is for Lovers which had featured a "Love" theme and red heart symbol since 1969. The innovative pop-style icon became a major success and has continued to be sold for years. In the popular mind (though this was not the original intention) the logo has become closely associated with New York City, and the placement of the logo on plain white T-shirts readily sold in the city has widely circulated the appearance of the image, making it a commonly recognized symbol.
The image became especially prominent following the September 11 terrorist attacks on the city, which created a sense of unity among the populace. Many visitors to the city following the attacks purchased and wore the shirts bearing the ‘I Love New York’ logo as a sign of their support. Glaser created a modified version to commemorate the attacks, reading "I Love NY More Than Ever", with a little black spot on the heart symbolizing the World Trade Center site. The black spot approximates the site's location on Manhattan Island.”


…Wow eh?

Imagine … just imagine what Bleed Blue could have done… for a country so in love with the sport, you had a campaign so well placed and positioned you could have ruled the sports merchandise industry and brought this country a little closer together. It was based on emotions and this country runs on emotions it was based on values and grit something this country has but needs to be reminded off every now and then.
Anyway… that’s just my opinion. I see bleed blue as just another campaign now, one that came conquered and left without saying a word. I don’t bleed blue anymore… the blue faded into dirty water and all I’m left with is a sad pale pink t-shirt with bleed blue written on it.
Don’t play with our emotions or sentiments Nike, unless you have something bigger in mind.

Nike
Don’t do it… again!

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Weather or Not

It’s raining its pouring
The old man is snoring
He has no clue
Of what’s about to ensue
Wacky weather is touring

Globally!
I follow a few weather reporters, one of them being stormchaser4850, on twitter. I also, on a daily basis, look out for various articles pertaining to the environment, weather patterns etc. The last few months have been quite scary.
Ash clouds over Paris now over Australia, earthquakes in Japan and recently near the coast of Nicaragua, tsunamis, floods, heat waves!!!
Mother Nature is really making her point! With this whole end of the world rumor going around it’s a scary thought -8 hour earthquake- phew! And not just focused in one place but all over the globe. Threats of solar flares, volcanic eruptions and a 2/3rd decrease in human population globally! My question is… how do I become part of that 1/3rd? Is there like a ticket I need to buy or maybe a lucky draw or something… it’s scary.
We deal with this logic on a daily basis but somehow as individuals fail to see it from a global perspective and that logic is, the things we do today will have repercussions tomorrow. Hence we make sure we finish all our work on Friday so that we can take Saturday off, or fill up fuel on the eve of a fuel hike or pre-book movie shows so that you don’t miss the show. We are proactive about everything but when it comes to Death and The End of The World, we somehow become complacent and thing ‘not today’ or ‘can’t happen in my lifetime’.
Question is why not! We always think “that can never happen to me but can happen to someone”… until we become that ‘someone’. To somebody you will always be someone else and to everybody we will always be just a nobody until somebody screws up and everybody knows who somebody is and nobody cares because it’s someone else.
If that made any sense at all it was meant too if not, water under the bridge, move on.
Responsibility, that’s the key word. Walk instead of driving short distances, use public conveyance etc are all things we can do to ensure we increase that gap of 2/3rd to maybe nil. Avoid Armageddon totally if possible. There is a movie I saw once, a short documentary called 4yearGo (youTube it, it’s pretty awesome) they say in a span of four years we can do so much to ensure much more. Four years to ensure a greener planet, better lifestyles etc so on and more.
I say why wait 4 years… why can’t that sense of responsibility take over our sub-conscience now? Why can’t we make small changes to our lifestyle now? Is it convenience or lack of it that we do things that may benefit us now but in the long run will harm the larger picture?
Governments being elected promise better power, electricity and food they promise better job opportunities, higher wages and better lifestyle and on the basis of those promises we elect. Yes infrastructure is important, yes growth is for the benefit of society. But, what about the surroundings, environment, ecology what about all those things, we ourselves don’t care why should governments?
Sometimes I feel the human capability to adapt is a curse. Our brains don’t try to fix problems they go around the problem or come up with another innovation to avoid the problem… unfortunately the problem still exists. For example using axes to chop trees took too much time, hence the chainsaw (problem doubled).
We adapt to heat, cold, excess rain, no rain, storms etc with better AC’s, heaters and other paraphernalia that make our lives ‘happy’. We adapt… we don’t exist anymore. Everyday our environment poses a new problem in front of us and instead of accepting the problem and trying to rectify it we work our way around it. Our management aka government needs to have this foresight to lead people in the right direction and the government that does that is the one I’d vote for with my eyes closed.
The Government banned smoking in public places, yay! Now what? How about banning the use of your car if the distance you have to go is within 5Km, or permitting only the use of cycles or electric scooters for distances within 10km. Offices to provide cabs for meetings etc. I mean it’s not a fool proof plan-of-action but it’s an idea? And people who can should.
It would be hypocritical of me to conclude this epiphany with a “someone needs to stand up and take action” because our problems, human nature, always has to be someone else’s!!!
Therefore I will go out on a limb here and say that I will practice what I preach and since I’m one of the people who can… I will not use my car for distances shorter than 5km and if possible will start cycling to office too.
That’s my bit… what’s yours? Remember it doesn’t have to be anything dramatic or big… start small for the bigger picture.

QuinteSequel

Pirates of the Caribbean – on stranger tides, Kung Fu Panda 2, X-Men First Class, Fast & Furious 5… 2011 the year for sequels!
There used to be a time when my first thought of an upcoming sequel would be “I’m sure it couldn’t be as good as the first part”, but what’s interesting is the emerging mannerism with which directors, producers, scriptwriters etc are positioning or making their movies in order to capture rapture.
Take Fast Five for example; all they had to do was bring in Vin Diesel, hell they even brought in Dwayne Johnson!! What more… Take Kung Fu Panda 2 as well, the whole angle of the story was different and no link to the last part yet in a way had some essence of part 1.
What intrigues me the most is X-Men First Class. X-Men went through all possible sequel possibilities, even with one only focusing on the Star Hugh Jackman, and just when everyone thought ‘well that’s it for X-Men!!!’ a sequel promptly comes up featuring the younger versions of the oldies.
Awesome, just brilliant!!! Sequels are no more continuations of its predecessor and even if they are the twist and nature of the storyline are completely changed. The original part one becomes part two because after part three comes Underworld: rise of the Lycans….genius!
What I’m definitely looking forward to is Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2… now this I would not categorize as a movie sequel. It is based completely on J K Rowling’s book which is already a best seller… when I write my next blog on book sequels ill definitely talk about it 
I’ve heard that Avatar 2 is coming as well… but somehow … and this is just a point of view. Avatar, the one we have all seen, was something new and exciting hence the storyline didn’t really matter. Most viewers were wowed by the graphics, animations SFX etc hence the movie was a hit. I just hope part 2 does not hope to ride the box office with Avatar 2 again on just graphics and SFX. The story needs juice and life!
Narnia is another excellent example of a great series. Had to mention it, Narnia is one of my all time favorites.
But the question is, while watching a good sequel is definitely awesome! What happened to innovation and something new? Well frankly I think Hollywood is working overtime and everyone is trying to develop scripts that have potential of being ‘Sequelable’. The Green Lantern for one is an example that pops up immediately. I can already see sequels which will introduce Thor, Green Lantern and Iron Man into one awesome fantastic movie, hell! It’s not rocket science… the last Iron Man showed the ‘Shield’ members discovering Thor’s Hammer in the middle of a crater. Plus they are all properties/ franchisees of DC comics.
So as a person who loves to be entertained and loves his popcorn and nachos I look forward to many more awesome movies to come.
Happy viewing

No ‘Mens’ Land

I’m not a spiritualist, I’m not a politician
I’m a 27 year old guy, half Punjabi & total Christian.
Has anyone noticed, you have policemen, firemen, postmen, milkmen etcetera, but, and here’s the irony, there is no ‘Men’ in politician!!! (Something to think about)
With that said, I must emphasize that I am not an expert in either spirituality or politics; hence my views are my own from a simple perspective of an observer.
It’s downright entertaining… Godman holds rally, rally gets gate crashed by law, law pursues Godman, and Godman disguises himself as a woman!!! And then flees again.
The world feels outraged by this act of violence from our government, I don’t. After recent developments where Ramdev has threatened the government and law officials that followers would come ‘ready’ next time, I fail to see the whole Gandhian approach here.
Also, why run? If Ramdev wanted sympathy and following he should have let himself get caught/ thrashed/ jailed!!! Why run? Does he have anything to hide? Is he part of a larger conspiracy? Why do dogs chase you? Because after they provoke you, you run!!! Hence they run after.
Dressing up like a woman and fleeing to another city…Bah! Even action movies don’t feature such baseless drama.
Now Anna Hazare has come into the picture…hmm well his last campaign did prove to be useful and he sorted his issues with the government in a manner that was actually peaceful, in a manner of speaking.
Whatever his ulterior motive might have been ultimately the greater good was acknowledged. Best part he did it for himself as he saw himself as a man representing the nation.
Anna and Baba together, allies fighting for a common cause… I don’t think it’s so common. Anna has a Gandhian belief which by the way I see it involves dialogue, listening, understanding; all virtues of a civilized society. Baba on the other hand adopts a spiritualistic belief which if we look into the past has never been beneficial for anyone. What’s the difference between a terrorist and a Ramdev then? Both are fighting for a God like belief, both want change and reform and both are willing to go to great lengths to achieve their goals, both hide in the dark, both operate incognito and neither can operate without a gathering of sorts.
But what has become that last straw that broke MY camel’s back! Is the present comparison being made between what happened at Ramlila Maidan and Jallianwala Bagh! Please, don’t compare what happened at Ramdev’s rally to Jallianwala Bhag! Don’t massacre something that was far greater in terms of emotion, historic and tragic circumstances. What happened at the rally was not even one hundredth the catastrophe at Jallianwala Bagh. Comparing the two is ridiculous and just plain silly. I don’t mean to say what happened at Ramlila Maidan is not bad, definitely a scar on the world’s largest Democracy, but is still incomparable to Jallianwala Bagh.
Opinions are like assholes… everybody has one! And this country is full of opinions… present company included ;) but that’s the beauty of democracy. And why not exercise our right of speech and freedom! But do so without making a big hue and cry about it. To be honest the hue and cry is all courtesy ‘Media’, but that’s a whole different story all together.
Frankly, I just hope the best ‘men’ win… politician with no ‘men’ in it or ‘lady’ Ramdev.